Thursday, February 24, 2005

2-Minute Penalty

Why are referees blind? Tonight I was whistled for my first ever penalty in broomball in 4 seasons. And what did I do? Absolutely NOTHING. An opposing player and myself were battling for the ball on the boards; the outer edges of the rink were lined with puddles of water due to warmer weather over the past week. Well, the opposing player got his foot stuck in a water-filled hole, slipped and then tripped. The next thing I know I get whistled for interference. Everyone including the other team knew the guy fell on his own except the ref. What a moron. Being down 1-0, that penalty led to a power play goal for the opposing team. Funny how the other teams only 2 shots on goal went in. Unfortunately for us, we were not blessed with the same luck for none of our shots on goal scored. 2 minute penalty. 2-0 loss. 2 losses for our team on the year. Too weird.

Thankfully my night didn't end up a total loss for the Huskies defeated the Sun Devils in college hoops. Phew.

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

That penalty should be protested and a replay is in order.
MGC